Lars' Blog

This is a blog.

25 Billion Downloads Theory

on December 16, 2014

As a class, we are responding to the math task “25 Billion Apps” from the site

Our source website.

Our source website.

I believe that we should start bombarding the App Store with downloads on Thursday, March 1 at 2:47:44 PM LA Pacific Standard Time. I reached this conclusion by first taking the number of downloads at 6:27, 6:28, and 6:29 on Friday, February 24. I found the difference between 6:28 and 6:27, and 6:29 and 6:28. I took the average of the two numbers, to get an average rate of change of 34,631.5 downloads per minute. Then, I found the difference between 25 billion and the number of downloads at 6:29. Next, I divided the difference by the average rate of change, discovering how many minutes had passed. I then divided this number by 60, finding the number of hours that had passed. I then divided that number by 24, finding how many days had passed. In the end, I had 6 days, 20 hours, and 18 minutes having passed, and added them on to 6:29 PM February 24, getting my final answer.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar